This, That, a Video, and #GivingTuesday

I’ve had a blog post in the works for days now, coming back to it periodically, editing, deleting. But for some reason it never seems right. And so it stays a draft.

Thanksgiving approached, and I planned a post about all the millions of things I’m thankful for. But it never made its way out of my head.

So here I am, with not much to write but lots of words on the tip of my tongue.

Since I love lists (who doesn’t?), let’s start there and see where it goes.

The happenings on this side of the internet…

  • New job! (I’ve never been one to talk  about work on here, and that will still be the case. But let’s just say I love it, and feel blessed to have found something I like doing with people who make each day an absolute blast.)
  • CF things and stuff. Most of what said draft is about. On the sweet side of life with cystic fibrosis, I’ve had the opportunity to speak at various events sharing my CF story, something that continues to be one of the most terrifying and rewarding things I do. (If you’re in Baltimore and need something to do tomorrow night, I’ll be speaking at Baltimore’s 35 Finest. Tickets and more info here.) For those curious, my wonderful husband recorded my speech at An Evening on the Severn:
  • A couple weeks ago, one of my favorite restaurants in Baltimore turned 2 – Wit & Wisdom. I was lucky enough to attend their fabulous birthday bash (a big thank you to Renee + the Wit and Four Seasons crew!), which meant eating things like scrapple sliders, oysters, and macarons. I know, rough. If you live in Baltimore and have yet to go there, make a reservation STAT. (And if you’re planning a trip to Charm City, make sure it’s on your “to eat” list.)

    me & Renee at #WitTurns2
    me & Renee at #WitTurns2
  • Thanksgiving = lots of time spent with family, lots of food, and snow! (Manmade, but still white and fluffy.) Grateful isn’t enough to describe how I feel about this life I’m lucky enough to have. The people are the sweetest part – including you, dear readers (are you still out there?).
  • Thursday is the Monument Lighting here in Baltimore – one of my favorite events of the year. The holiday season has arrived!
  • Somewhere around this time six years ago I met two of my very best friends. We met when single, renting apartments, and in different jobs. We’re now all married, one of us has a baby, and we’re all homeowners. Girlfriends that go through those kind of life changes are irreplaceable. And we’re celebrating our friendship at Spoons – our favorite brunch spot – this weekend. Ladies, they say a friendship that makes it seven years will last a lifetime – just one year to go before we’re officially stuck with each other.

There’s just a peek to get you guys a bit caught up. I hope you all had a Thanksgiving full of great food and even better company. I promise to be back very soon.

xo,

K.

P.S. Today is #GivingTuesday, a day to raise money and awareness for whatever cause strikes a chord with you. And as you all know, cystic fibrosis is the cause nearest to my heart. As someone living with CF, I can personally attest to the difference the CF Foundation has made in my life. Each and every person who has spread the word, attended an event, and donated (whether it be their time or money) has taken part in the HUGE strides being made to improve the quality of life for CF patients – and to one day find a cure. If you hadn’t planned on giving today – or weren’t sure where to give – check out my fundraising page or head on over to BmoreGivesMore. Every single dollar counts, for whichever cause you choose. If you can’t afford to give this year, passing it on and spreading awareness goes just as far.

As always, THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for your constant support. It never fails to lift my spirits and put a smile on my face.


Follow me!// Twitter // Instagram.

6 thoughts on “This, That, a Video, and #GivingTuesday

  1. […] Baltimore has its own site, BMore Gives More, and hopes to be named the most generous city in America. Take a moment today to look through all of the charities and make a donation or two. I plan to give to two of my favorite orgs, BARCS, the city’s animal shelter, and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, in honor of Katharine. […]

  2. […] is out on the quad enjoying the first day of spring. But 10 years later, Katharine has grown into a powerful advocate for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and it’s fight for a cure. And those conversations we used to have in college… what […]

Leave a comment