A Post in Which I Get Sentimental

Things haven’t been totally rosy around here. And I’ve been struggling with how to put it into words. So stay tuned, because it’s coming.

As for right now, today’s been one of those days. Harried, hurried, hellish. I might have even shed some tears… at work. I know. I’m cringing, too.

And then I remembered what I’m doing tonight. It’s the final event for Baltimore’s 35 Finest Under 35. And it benefits the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. If you follow me on Twitter, you saw your fair share of tweets about it. But for those of you who didn’t, I’ll sum it up.

This is the fourth year that 35 Baltimore professionals under the age of 35 have been chosen to spend three months fundraising to help find a cure for cystic fibrosis. Last year I was an honoree, and this year I’m participating as an alumni.

Thinking about tonight and what it means to me helped put every trivial thing that went “wrong” today into perspective.

Because for the past couple of months, the support and love that has poured in from family, friends, coworkers, and strangers has been overwhelming.

Thanks to these generous people, I was able to raise just under $8,500. In a time where many people are struggling to keep a roof over their heads and food on the table, this kind of support doesn’t go unappreciated.

I am SO BLESSED.

I will never be able to put into words what it means to have so many people behind me. The thoughtful notes and words of enouragement help keep me chugging along more than you will ever know.

Living life with cystic fibrosis is hard to understand. But with the help from everyone who supports the cause – whether it’s by donating, spreading awareness, or just lending a hand to someone with the disease – I believe we CAN find a cure.

And I’m going to do everything I can to make sure I’m around to see it.

4 thoughts on “A Post in Which I Get Sentimental

Leave a Reply

