Well-Being Wednesday

Last night I promised myself I’d go to yoga. I knew my muscles could use the stretching, especially after the training I’ve started, and I always leave feeling peaceful (who doesn’t need that?).

By the time I left work and got home, I knew it just wasn’t happening. Too many thoughts/worries/to do’s were crowding my head – namaste-ing myself into a place of relaxtion would be impossible.

So instead I went home. I made dinner, got my treatments finished early, caught up on Grey’s, and wrote down a few words for an event I’m speaking at tonight.

I was able to get to bed earlier than usual, and with a clear head.

Sometimes taking care of your well-being is knowing when to say no. It’s easy to talk yourself into things because they’re good for you, but it never hurts to take a break.

8 thoughts on “Well-Being Wednesday

  1. It’s true and good for you for recognizing that! Sometimes I plan out my whole day first thing in the morning with good for me meals and activities, but find that by the end of the day that plan just isn’t the perfect choice for me right then. When you’re trying to follow a plan it’s still important to be flexible 🙂

  2. If it makes you feel better, I’ve been taking care of my well-being for about 2 weeks. I think I need to start saying “yes” to the gym and working out real soon. 🙂

  3. Hi Katharine! Sometimes you really do need just to slow down and do something for yourself. (That being said, how was your speech? 😉 )
    If you weren’t going to be able to focus and relax at yoga, then it wouldn’t do what you were going for it to do. So, I am glad you were able to make the best decision for YOU yesterday!

Leave a Reply

