Guess What I’m Giving Up

My body’s been in kind of a funk lately. So I’m starting a cleanse. (Don’t worry, I won’t have to drink concoctions that taste like nail polish remover and starve myself of anything that resembles food.) I’ve always thought I eat pretty well. But looking at all the foods that are off limits during this cleanse, makes me realize it’s a good idea to get rid of the junk I’ve been putting in my body.

Plus, I kind of like the challenge.

For 21 days I won’t be drinking ANY coffee or soda. None. Considering I start each morning with a giant cup of glorious caffeinated deliciousness (and get a headache at promptly 1:23PM if I don’t), this will be the biggest adjustment.

I will also be avoiding wheat, dairy, sugar, and eggs. (I can have these things once per week.)

However, From A to Pink won’t be turning into a food blog, I just thought it might be interesting for me to document what I eat and how I start to feel.

The cleanse starts Monday, which means I’ll be making a trip to one of my favorite places on earth: Trader Joe’s. Gotta stock up on the stuff I CAN eat and start brainstorming different ways to make it yummy!

If you have any suggestions or recipes that are gluten, dairy, and sugar free, send ’em my way! And hold my accountable, too.  I know this is going to be difficult, but worth it.

(And if you’re on Twitter, you can see how I’m doing there, too!)

P.S. Here’s the cleanse if you want more info/want to join!

10 thoughts on “Guess What I’m Giving Up

  1. I did a 30 day cleanse – no caffeine, no alcohol, no dairy, no gluten, no soy, no vinegar, etc. It was difficult, but the results are amazing! Let me know if you need any tips, and good luck 🙂

    • Wow! I’m impressed and I’d love to hear more about it (how you felt, what you ate, etc.). Day one has been hard so far!

  2. I’ve been thinking about doing this lately too!! Although, Hubby and I are about to go on vacation with his family, so it’s not realistic…

    I admire you for knowing your body 🙂

    • Thanks! We’ll see what this does, I’m hoping I see some sort of change, whatever that may be. And I don’t blame you for not doing it while going on vacation… that takes the fun out of it! 🙂

  3. Good luck! I successfully gave up coffee about 6 months ago now. It was not fun for the first few days, but I survived! I ended up starting the morning with green juice instead of coffee to try to survive the impending caffeine withdrawal headache and it worked pretty well. I’ll still have an occasional cup of coffee (maybe 1 per week now?) but I do it as a treat and not because I’m going to turn into a crazy person without it 🙂

    • Thanks! Good job on giving up coffee – that’s what I thought would be hardest (that and sugar) for me, so we’ll see what happens 🙂

  4. I’m very interested in following your progress. Not sure I can give up caffeine — at least not while there’s anything related to the debt ceiling going on — but I’ve considered doing a wheat-free, sugar-free week or two.

    • You should give it a try! I figure that anything can be done for 21 days (let’s see what I’m saying after week one…) And you could always give up one at a time, phase into it 🙂

Leave a Reply

