A Deep Breath…

I’ve always had an intense fear of public speaking, as I’m sure a lot of people do. As they say, it’s second only to death.

(I could barely get through presentations in school without feeling sick to my stomach.)

So needless to say I was terrified to get up in front of 350+ people on Saturday and tell them my CF story, something extremely personal (even though I’ve put it on this blog for the whole interwebs to see… :)).

Fortunately, it went better than I ever could have hoped.

The event itself was wonderful, too – great food, a fantastic turnout, and horse racing. What could be better?

I’ll be sure to upload pictures as soon as my personal photographer (aka the bf) uploads them.

Thanks to said bf, I also have my speech recorded for family and friends that weren’t able to make it. (Um, can I just say how totally weird it is to watch/hear yourself on video? Definitely not what I thought I sounded like.)

I was hesitant to share it… it makes me feel slightly self-concious but I think it’s important to share. Plus, posting this will probably give you a better idea of how I was feeling that day – it’s hard to put into words what an amazing experience it was. So here you go, my speech (sorry it’s so dark, lighting wasn’t the best):

And a BIG thank you to all of my blends and Twitter friends for the support. I truly could not have done this without such wonderful encouragement. You are all AMAZING and so kind.

20 thoughts on “A Deep Breath…

  1. A huge congrats! Public speaking is *hard*!

    I just wanted to pop over and thank you for entering the giveaway for my Karma Cards on the Oh, Mishka blog. We’ve got a few sets left if you’re still keen (cough, shameless self-promotion, cough) ;D

  2. Sorry I am a little late in seeing this – WOW you were amazing. Paul and I both agreed that you are an EXCELLENT public speaker. I can’t believe how well you kept it together – I was definitely wiping my eyes before you even started to lose it. 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well. It’s been far too long. We NEED to get together soon!!!

  3. […]  Katharine is a lot like you, and she’s a lot like me. I would like to think that if I was in her situation, that my loved ones would support me anyway they could.  I would like to think that strangers would offer to learn about my diagnosis and spread the word about what CF is.  I would like to think that people that have never met me would be touched by my story and want to participate in Great Strides events or donate a few dollars to the cause – because I have been touched by Katharine’s story. I have been touched by her honesty, and her genuine desire to bring awareness to an illness that so few people know about.  I’ve been moved by her winning attitude and her seemingly resilient smile.  I’ve been inspired by her words: […]

  4. I just wanted to let you know how much of an inpiration you are to me. I couldn’t have explained the thing about kids and marrige better myself. I am terrified of those same things. Like TERRIFIED. You give me hope and strenth and the courage to go on with my life, and take advantage of every minute that I have. Love, Katie Clark. I wish you godspeed. PS- you are so brave

Leave a Reply

