I Did It!

And here it is, the post (I like to think) you’ve been patiently waiting for. The Shamrock 5K!

I signed up in the beginning of January, thinking that 2.5 months would be enough time to train. And if it weren’t for the 3 ft. of snow, one weekend in Chicago, and two work trips it probably would have been.

Needless to say, my training was basically non-existent. For about two weeks I followed the Couch to 5K program, running/walking three times a week for about 30 minutes. And that was it.

Three days before the race Renee offered to run outside with me. The first run outside of the gym since I signed up. “Uh oh,” I thought.

But the weather was perfect, I got out of work on time, and I hadn’t tried out the inserts I got for my shin splint problems. There was no excuse.

I was afraid my lack of preparation would show and I’d become even more discouraged than I already was.

But I surprised myself. I ran when I could and walked when I needed. (And  without Renee’s “run from here to that tree” and “okay, it’s downhill, you can run this part,” I’m not sure I would’ve been able to do it. So thank you, Renee!)

In about 45 minutes we completed 3.5 miles. I was floored. That was more than the 5K! It was exactly what I needed to realize that I COULD do it.

The Shamrock 5K was a good first race, I think, because it was HUGE. 4,500 people to be exact. I figured there was no way I could be last. Plus, it was very laid back – people were wearing tutus, face masks, body paint, and all sorts of other things. It helped me not take myself so seriously.

My friend Mandi ran it with me (thanks again, Mandi!) which helped immensely. There were a few times where I wasn’t sure I could finish, but she was right there to cheer me on and let me know I could.

It was HARD. Harder than the 3.5 mile run just a couple days before. But the people cheering all the runners on was very motivating.

The best part by far was when I saw my dad and Mike. They were standing on the sidewalk a few blocks before the finish, and as soon as I saw them my eyes filled with tears. Having them there meant SO MUCH.

Adrenaline rushed through me and I took off. It was the best feeling. I can’t even describe it. (Mandi even slowed down and held off a little so I could race through the finish line by myself. I have the best friends, seriously.)

My official time was just under 40 minutes. And I’m more than happy with that. 🙂

It’s a day I won’t ever forget. Because I did something I didn’t think I’d EVER do. Something I was terrifed to do.

And something I will definitely be doing again. Soon. 🙂

Now for the pictures, courtesy of Mike:

(I am SO bummed I didn’t get a pic with my dad. Or Mike for that matter. But no worries, they both want to run this 5K with me next year. Woohoo!)

And a BIG thank you to my readers – your constant support and words of encouragement are truly incredible. And big part of why I was able to conquer those 3 miles.

30 thoughts on “I Did It!

  1. That is AWESOME!! So proud of you lady!

    Oh and by the way – I normally get shin splints until I went to Charm City Run and they got me in shoes that match the way I walk/run. Highly recommend it. There’s also one on Falls Road that does the same type of thing. Figured I’d let you know since this won’t be your last 5k!

  2. congrats katharine! that is awesome, and seriously how do you and your friend actually look good in running pictures? that should be illegal or something, haha.

  3. Umm, that first picture should have a black out over my face, haha…you look so happy, Katharine! I’m so proud of you, I knew you could do it!! I think I almost teared up when I saw you run over the finish line! xoxo

  4. So, how about the women’s classic on June 27? That goes from about Harborview to Fort McHenry and around.

    You know you can do it… 🙂

  5. Congratulations on completing the race! That is excellent and you did such a great job! I need to seriously sign up for a 5K. You have inspired me to do so!

  6. Hey- I hope you check this at some point. I would love to email you, but cannot figure it out. Your blog is so cute and I love the layout. How did you get it like this?
    Thanks so much!
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

