Nothing’s Perfect

I owe you a LOT of updates: the 5k, my doctor’s appointment, Fitbloggin’, and a mini announcement. I haven’t forgotten, pinkie swear.

But first I wanted to talk about something that’s very important to me. By no means do I want my blog to turn into a political discussion, but the healthcare bill that was just passed means a lot of good things for me (and others in similar situations). With so much bad-mouthing of the bill, I thought I’d share why I’m actually excited.

Because of this new legislation, an insurance company can’t decide not to cover me because I have cystic fibrosis. Something that’s considered a pre-existing condition. Because of this new legislation, an insurance company can’t put an annual and/or lifetime cap on my coverage. Because of this new legislation, the amount of money I spend out-of-pocket will be less.

Having a chronic illness like CF is a burden. For me AND my family. But because President Obama, and all the other supporters, pushed this bill through, I have a few less things to worry about.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and their own reasons for liking/disliking the healthcare reform. This is mine. And I hope that it gives you just one more perspective.

Thanks for letting me get on my soapbox for a minute. I’ll be back tomorrow to catch up. πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Nothing’s Perfect

  1. While I agree with you, on the whole, there are 2,400 pages of this bill to sift through before I start getting optimistic about what it all may mean. You used the verb ‘pushed through’ and I fear that might be exactly the problem.

    I’m being a nay-sayer. I just want to know more.

  2. I am glad that the healthcare bill passed. I think healthcare needs to be accessable to everyone regardless of their economic status or pre-existing conditions. I don’t understand all the backlash.

  3. Oh, Kat, I am SO happy for you that it passed as well. I have too many friends in similar situations, not CF, but other diseases & illnesses, and those weren’t covered by their insurance either. I don’t think anyone believes the bill is perfect. But it is a start, and it is a necessary step in the right direction!!!
    I’m still waiting with baited breath on the other stories you have to share…but thank you for sharing this with us!

  4. Kat I agree with you wholeheartedly! Due to pre-existing conditions, not only can my parents not afford insurance for my dad, he can’t even get it half the time.

    The healthcare bill is going to be a GOOD thing, I believe that with all my heart. I just wish others could see it too.

  5. Thank you for pointing out the good!! I’m so happy for all those great changes for you- insurance must be especially frustrating (like you don’t have enough to deal with!). I don’t know a whole lot about the bill- it’s hard to read an unbiased article, and they all seem to be negative. I’m glad there’s a good side too!

  6. I’ll start with the positive: we do need reform. “Shoving this through” against the majority will of the people was procedurally wrong because, well, it would be better to JUST have included these things that are important, not to mention tort reform.

    Sadly, according to the bill, those with the high-value plans, which we will need, are going to be taxed the highest. I already (gladly) pay $480/mo for myself and $240/mo for my wife (w/out CF) to know exactly what my future looks like regarding my healthcare. I don’t need to pay higher taxes on my already higher premiums. It also adds taxes on prescriptions and medical devices (the Vest) and adds millions of people to an already bankrupt Medicare.

    In most states, if you work for a company with more than 50 (maybe even just 15) employees, insurance companies cannot enact a pre-existing condition clause. I’ve never not been covered as a result. Now that I own my own company, I paid COBRA for a year and used the HIPAA guarantee and prior-coverage certificated to wave the one year delay on pre-existing conditions again… I just don’t think “tearing the house down to build a new room” for us high-cost patients was a good idea… just build a new room.

    /soapbox off

  7. Thank heavens this has passed!!! No more crying on futons after beruit about the current government right Kat πŸ˜‰

  8. You know what, I was totally on the fence about the bill. I didn’t educate myself enough about it – so I didn’t really lean one way or the other. But, I am soooo glad to hear that it will provide relief to you and others with CF. Now, that’s some positive change πŸ™‚

    Hope you don’t get an onslaught, but I think you’re pretty awesome for posting on the blog.

  9. You already know that I agree 100% and also think that the plan isn’t perfect, but MY GOD did we need to get this started!

    At least someone is taking action and making an effort to help those of us with pre-existing conditions (and I still laugh that mine is even considered that).

    It’s not perfect, but what we had before was so fractured, so punctured, so absolutely flawed that anything is a step up. Let’s embrace that and keep hoping for better!

  10. This bill is a huge step and a major victory for people with chronic illnesses. As someone who has been denied healthcare in the past because of a pre-existing condition (migraines, conveniently) I’m proud to be a supporter of healthcare reform.

    Thank you, Katharine, for standing up for the positives this bill brings (and of course for just being you). It may not be perfect yet, but we’re certainly headed in the right direction!

    xoxo

  11. Everything I’ve heard about this bill has been so impersonal and abstract, so thank you for personalizing what the changes mean. It’s easy for all the arguments to get out of hand when people forget they’re talking about actual people’s lives. Very happy that this is good news and will alleviate some stress on you and your family. That’s wonderful! πŸ™‚

  12. Wow! Lots of people could learn a thing or two from you.. refreshingly honest and personal post without a hint of cynicism or negativity.

    Thanks for sharing and wish you well..

  13. No rush on the updates! (but maybe I’m only saying that cuz I was able to ask my questions in person) πŸ™‚

    I’m glad the bill passed and like most of the changes it will bring. And can’t wait for your mini-announcement!

  14. ya know, my family is not so “for” the bill because we will be taxed so much more, however, if it is going to help a wonderful person such as yourself..well, i have just gained a new respect for it. thanks for sharing how it will be helpful for you. there are always two sides to every story and I am thankful for having heard yours.

  15. I agree with Jordan up there – I had a hard time deciding how I felt about the bill, but putting a face – especially one that I know – to what it can do definitely helps. I am so happy for you and your family and others out there who have one less worry to tend to.

    Can’t wait for more of a recap! xoxo

Leave a Reply

