The Land of the Living

I’m here! Still alive and kicking πŸ™‚

Things are pretty good, I’ve just had a lot going on in my head and am still trying to determine what to share with the blog world and what is better kept to myself.

I realize, however, that’s not a reason to NOT blog. And maybe I can figure out a way to still express how I’m feeling about certain things without totally giving it all away. Cryptic, I know.

Anyway, tomorrow is the 5K I signed up for way back in January. Due to the blizzards and various trips I’ve been taking for work/pleasure, my training wasn’t as successful as I’d hoped. In fact, for the last few weeks it was basically non-existent.

So on Thursday, Renee suggested we go for a run after work… outside. A first for me. I won’t say it was easy, and I definitely (fast) walked here and there (maybe more than just here and there), but I did it. (Thanks to Renee’s encouragement and company!) And did much better than I’d thought I would. We covered 3.5 miles in about 45 minutes! I felt fantastic, refreshed, energized – I see how people can get hooked to running, or maybe the feeling you get AFTER. Because there were some moments where I wasn’t sure I’d be able to keep going.

But I did, and it was wonderful. It made me feel like signing up for the race wasn’t a mistake and that I could, in fact, do it – despite my lack of preparation.

So tomorrow is the big day. And I’m actually really excited. (I’m just crossing my fingers that the rain that’s predicted holds off.)

Mandi will be running by my side, cheering me on, and telling me I can do it when I want to give up. I can’t thank her enough for that.

And (hopefully – he was sick today with a fever) Mike will be standing at the finish line taking pictures to document when I cross the finish line.

My dad’s even coming down for the event! I am so lucky to have such wonderful family and friends.

And blog friends, too! Thanks to all of you who have encouraged me along the way, it warms my heart πŸ™‚

I’ll be back tomorrow to let you know how it goes. Keep tuning in, I’ll be here – promise!

11 thoughts on “The Land of the Living

  1. GO KAT! I am excited to hear about the 5K and know how awesome you are going to feel afterward.

    You CAN do it, you WILL do it, and I am cheering you on from a distance (since I have to show houses, I am sorry!). It doesn’t matter if you walk the whole thing as long as you DO IT!!!!

    GO KAT GO!

  2. Ahhh, I hope the race went well! Post a recap as soon as you have time! πŸ™‚ Are you going to run at FitBloggin? I heard Baltimore will have nice weather this coming weekend.

Leave a Reply

