Workout Fail

First of all, THANK YOU to those who have left such sweet and heartfelt comments – YOU guys are the ones that are inspiring, and your words help immensely.

I went to the gym after work, hoping that working on my 5K training would help clear my head. Somehow it ended up doing just the opposite and after 8 minutes, while holding back tears, I ditched my workout.

I’m hoping it was just mental; that the wall I hit has nothing to do with my ability to run, but is more about my mood. Nonetheless, it was a little defeating. I’m determined to run this 5K in 7 weeks but have a hard time keeping my running mojo, so to speak, when I have workouts like this.

Anyway, I told myself I’d come back in the morning and try again. Maybe cooking a batch of chili, watching The Bachelor, and getting some sleep will work some magic.

(Letting out a big boohoo in the car helped a bit, too.)

Again, thank you for your comments and encouragement – it makes this whole ordeal that much easier.

24 thoughts on “Workout Fail

  1. Don’t beat yourself up too much, I think as long as you go to the gym and TRY, then that’s pretty good! Most times you will finish your workout, sometimes you won’t, but the good news is that you dragged yourself there!

  2. I missed your earlier post, but I am glad you are feeling better now. Balancing everything in life is tough enough when you are perfectly healthy. When you have extra considerations to take into account it’s even harder. It’s only natural that you get overwhelmed. But I hope that you can also give yourself a big pat on the back for what you are accomplishing! The next workout will be better. You’ll run that 5k and it will feel great!

  3. I’m so sorry that you’re having a rough day and had a rough workout! But, this little blip of a bad workout doesn’t mean anything for your running the 5K in 7 weeks! Bad workouts happen to everyone (I don’t know how many times I started a run and just decided I “couldn’t” emotionally do it…)

    I hope tomorrow is a little better for you!

  4. You are going to have your ups and downs. It is all part of this.
    You made it to the gym. That is step #1. I don’t see this as a failure, because you plan to go in the morning. And you WILL, because you know you need to overcome this.
    Personally, I can’t run much between ugh lungs and band ankles. If you can’t run, walk on the treadmill. Maybe incline as you feel stronger.
    These are all baby steps to getting you where you need to be.
    Don’t forget how many people will be walking much of that 5K. The point is to finish, not to win!
    GO KAT! You WILL do this!

  5. You’re doing so well! It’s certainly not a workout fail, just a setback–and we all have them!! Enjoy your chili!

  6. I follow the mindset that 8 minutes was better than nothing. You could’ve gone straight home, but at least you made an effort.

    Everyone has setbacks in their training. So you’re not alone. Don’t let one bad day on the treadmill get you down. Just keep at it!

    As cheesy as the Bachelor is, I hope it cheered you up. I know I was laughing a lot while I watched.

  7. Oh girl, big internet hug to you. I’m sorry I missed this a few days ago. I hope your mood has been improving, and if ever you want a workout buddy for motivation or for just to lend an ear, I’m right up the road πŸ™‚ See you tonight!

  8. I beat myself up too about workouts. I set these goals for myself that are nearly impossible to attain and then give myself a really hard time when I don’t reach them. I am learning that trying is enough and that, for me, setting lower goals is okay sometimes too. I don’t need to get out there and be a total rockstar every workout!

    Some days, you are just not going to be into working out & I think that’s totally okay and normal. Keep your head up πŸ™‚ I bet we’ll be seeing you rocking your 5k in 7 weeks!

  9. Oh girl, my heart aches for you. I wish that I could get some strength and put it into a box and mail it to ya. But i will throw in a few extra prayers for my very first CF friend. πŸ™‚ If it makes u feel any better I just got a personal trairer yesterday and today I can barely get upstairs to my apartment! Ew. I am so out of shape. Hang in there, keep your eye on the goal and just keep swimming. In your case, running….

  10. sorry it sounds like you’re having a rough time, i hope things get better soon! sometimes it’s best to just ditch the workout and have a good cry instead πŸ™‚

  11. I am so sorry Katharine, but please please don’t be disheartened. You can do it, so what if you quit your workout once. Happens to all of us, we are just not in the groove of things. I am sure the Chili and bachelor will set your mood right, even if they don’t don’t lose heart. It was all pass!

  12. So I’m just catching up on everything, but I want to send some happy thoughts your way!

    …and watching The Bachelor is my guilty pleasure πŸ™‚

  13. Crying is wonderful therapy. Let it all out girl! πŸ™‚ When I go a long period of time without crying, I can feel a tension building inside me. What you’re going through is an amazing, inspirational journey. I admire you very much!! Remember what Dori says – “Just keep swimming, swimming.” πŸ™‚

  14. I’m sorry you have been having a difficult time. I know a good cry now and again can really help. Keep up the hard work, I love reading your blog and about your pregress. My best to you!

Leave a Reply

