The Post in Which I Use Too Many Parentheses

It’s taken me so long to post because I actually couldn’t decide what to write about. I have a million ideas running through my head and didn’t know which one to pick. (So stay tuned for more frequent posting!)
 
I decided to make this post less about CF and more about ME. I know, you’re excited. 😉

But in all seriousness, I think it’s important to show the (many) other aspects of my life. Having cystic fibrosis doesn’t define me, it’s just a part of who I am. And I want you, my readers, to get to know about me, too!

Mike and I had been wanting to go to the aquarium for a while, but being a young couple on a budget we didn’t want to cough up the almost $30 per person. Luckily, the Baltimore aquarium offers admission for $8 on Friday nights!

(And date night was born.)

First we stopped at Five Guys. (Can I get a, “Mmm!”)

(I really need to become a better blogger and start taking more pictures. The ones below were taken by the very talented Mike.) (Which, unfortunately, means he’s BEHIND the camera, rather than in front of. And that means you get to see a lot of my face. Enjoy.)

my “i don’t know whether to be intrigued or scared” face

beautiful jellyfish (who knew?)

This was followed by a visit to my homeland – Barnes & Noble. And of course I didn’t walk out empty handed. No. I made two purchases:

Then home and bed. (I know, I’m an old woman.)

Saturday was spent gearing up for the Ravens game. (Which ended in heartache, so let’s move on.)

I decided I deserved a little something for keeping up with my meds for the past few weeks, so I made my way to Columbia for some Sunday “me time.” And I might have treated myself a little TOO much.

(A new jeans purchase from H&M, a (hot pink!) manicure, and a trip to Trader Joe’s (aka my other boyfriend) might have occured.)

I was in such good spirits when I got home that I made dinner. (Go ahead, pick your jaw up off the floor. I’ll wait.)

(And it didn’t involve the microwave!)

In fact, it turned out quite delicious if I do say so myself. Pork tenderloin, green beans, roasted potatoes, and garlic naan. (With a side of red wine, of course.)

evidence

How was your weekend?

Now I can’t end this post without giving a VERY special thanks to an even more special person. (Click that link, because it leads to her blog, and you KNOW you want to read every post she writes. Because she’s awesome.)

Heather has bowled me over with her sweetness and support over the last few weeks. Not only has she offered endless words of encouragement, but now she has pledged to walk for Great Strides in my honor.

I can’t even express how grateful I am. So please, go on over and donate. Or just let her know what an amazing and inspiring person SHE is. Not only to support CF, but to recognize Heather’s generous and incredible spirit.

So THANK YOU, Heather!

29 thoughts on “The Post in Which I Use Too Many Parentheses

  1. I am such a nerd-bomber. Here I am, standing in the copy room at work. Reading what you just wrote, on my blackberry, and crying. Your words are SO SWEET!!! Xoxoxox

    Also- I am so glad that you are sharing some posts about YOU and not just You+CF (although, you know I love those posts, too)

    I love your cute writing voice- I was def. laughing during the “pick your jaw up off the floor”ness going on 🙂

    Ah…. I just ADORE you. Can not WAIT for fitbloggin 🙂

  2. You’re going to loooove Bright Shiny Morning. I read it a couple of months ago.

    I may need to make a trip to the library of Katharine. I’m running out of things to read 🙂

  3. I second the Villa- it’s great! I unashamedly can admit that I love Nora Roberts- it’s my “fun” reading when I just need to chill. I’ve read pretty much all of her books (aside from the ones published by Silouhette-they are a little to Harlequin-esque for me). Her “In Death” series is great- I listen to them on tape when traveling for work.

    Love the post about you!

  4. i loooove going to the aquarium, that’s awesome they have such a great deal for friday nights, perfect date night indeed. and um did you get ‘bright shiny morning’ on sale at b&n because i totally just bought it there too because i loved that book and it was super cheap and on sale, haha.

  5. I haven’t been to the B’more aquarium in ages! Love the pics! Your boyfriend did a fantastic job of capturing such beautiful saturated colors!

  6. Your homeland, Barnes and Noble. That cracked me up.

    I think Ashley and I are going to do Great Strides in Cleveland in May. I’ll post about it when we decide.

  7. aw, Heather is awesome. How sweet.

    And Barnes and Noble is my homeland as well. I have read Nora Roberts [lots!] but never JD Robb/Nora Roberts. I do like her romance style though, so perhaps her straight thrillers are equally as good? Her romances usually have a suspenseful twist, so I am betting it will be good.

  8. I’m glad you said that having CF doesn’t define you. Because though you have to struggle with that, it’s not the only reason everyone reading your blog. You have lots of stuff to post about…and even though you didn’t take them, these latest photos are great. 🙂

  9. I love the “in Death” series by “J.D. Robb.” I think Eve is the only cop I’ve ever liked (not that I’ve met that many) and if only I could find my own Roake….and usually I don’t get that attached to my books, so take that as you will. Oh and yes, I love the over use of parentheses…I over use them too!

  10. Hello Katherine! I am a fellow cfer and just found your blog through a friend. I love How open you are about everything. I started a blog once but couldn’t figure out what to write. Maybe you could give me some pointers. I would love to inspire someone. I was diagnosed a long time ago but my cf only became a problem when I was 15 and I was also diagnosed with diabetes. I would love to talk more. I only have 1 other cyster. thanks ~August

  11. haha, B calls Trader Joe’s my other boyfriend as well! I love to go to the aquarium but I never go for the same reason – $$

  12. You are getting domestic. I wouldn’t believe it if I didn’t see photo evidence and not that it is too out there to even believe!

Leave a Reply

