A New Year is For Trying New Things… Right?

I did something I’ve wanted to do for over a year now. Something I haven’t done because I’ve been too scared.

I signed up for a 5K. The Shamrock 5K to be exact.

Now, I don’t run. Never have. My cardio consists of “running” on the elliptical and walking on the treadmill. Sometime in October, my roommate at the time convinced me to run with her. “Just a mile,” she said. “You can do it.” I hemmed and I hawed. I tried to talk my way out of it, using CF as my main excuse.

But eventually I thought, What the heck. It can’t hurt. (Besides, I was curious to see what would happen. Cystic fibrosis has always been the main thing holding me back from trying. I figured that someone with a lung disease wouldn’t be able to run.)

So I did. And after a couple blocks I wanted to die. So I walked a block. Then I ran a couple. And wanted to die. I repeated that for a about a mile. At which point I declared I couldn’t go any further and went home.

But I felt GREAT. I was on cloud nine. I had RUN a MILE, something I thought I could never do.

Then winter set in and running outside, especially for me (breathing in very cold air can be difficult), became impossible. And I haven’t run again since.

And then on Tuesday, in response to one of Kim’s tweets, I mentioned that I’d always wanted to run a 5K but didn’t think I could.

Ashley and Quinn chimed in, offering to run in the Shamrock 5K, too. Before I knew it, I’d signed up, along with my friend Mandi.

I’m nervous. Petrified is more like it. I probably should have started training… oh like last month, maybe? (What if I have to walk? What if I have a coughing attack in the middle of the race? What if I embarrass myself? What if I don’t finish?) But along with the butterflies in my stomach and the million worries running through my head, I’m excited.

Because if when I cross that finish line, it will be one of the proudest moments of my life.

20 thoughts on “A New Year is For Trying New Things… Right?

  1. That’s so awesome you are going to do that! I have terrible asthma, so running for me is difficult. I normally have to run a bit, walk a bit, run a bit, walk a bit. You will get through it – whether you run the entire way or not!

  2. Best of luck to you. If you have a coughing fit, cough away. Then get back in there and cross that finish line.

    Let us know how you fare!

  3. You’ll do wonderful! I can’t tell you how proud I am of you for what you’re doing to promote CF. It takes a very brave person to lay everything out on the line you way you have 🙂

    Know that I (and Kevin too) am here to support you 100%. Good luck girl, I know you can do it!

  4. Good for you! You’ll be surprised how the adrenaline of race helps get you to the finish line. A little at a time and you’ll be running all 3.1 miles before you know it.

    Best of luck!

  5. I’m really excited to be reading your blog…and for your 5K goal. You can do it! 🙂 You have time to train so take things slowly and see how it goes. No worries, you’ll be great!

  6. You are such an inspiration!

    Ohh I am SO not a runner!! I look like a prized idiot when I attempt to run.
    Proud to be a walker!!

    Good luck doll! xx

  7. so, when are you coming running with Kula and I again? Maybe we can get you a heated helmet that sucks in air and heats it up so that you can run outside in the cold. Not to mention you’d look really stylish with a huge helmet on. A heated Tyvek suit is another possibility – http://www.edarley.com/itm_img/AA801-new.jpg. Very stylish. Maybe we could find one in pink.

  8. Awesome! I know that you can do it. You should check out the couch to 5k program on the cool running website- it really eases the transition from non-runner to runner. I believe it is a 8-9 week program so there is still time before your 5k. Best of luck to you, I know you can rock it!

  9. Hey, don’t wonder if you can do it’; KNOW you you can do it. Since I never knew I had CF for the first 25 years of my life I never wondered if someone with CF could do it. I was a runner for years and I believe that had a role in my staying so healthy for so long. I am going to start again and I don’t have any excuses not to! Shoot! And now that you are running, too, I have all the more reason. Once again, thank you for your inspiration.

  10. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I put running a mile on my 101 list, but have yet to start working on that goal. Maybe this summer, as I’m not terribly interested in running in the snow 🙂

  11. You’ll love the Shamrock 5K! It was my first 5K too (I’m from Baltimore!) It’s a great course, winding around the harbor!!!

    I’ve loved reading all of your posts; I’m so inspired by your strength and optimistic spirit!

  12. I’ll be there running with you! I’m not doing this 5K to see how fast I can run, I’m doing it with you so you can have some support! I know you will be able to do it, and I’ll be the one next to you telling you “just a couple more blocks” or “you are doing such a great job!” I’m excited and so proud of you already!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

