The Big 6-0

This past weekend was my mom’s 60th birthday party. She flew my sister in for the occasion and it was SO. MUCH. FUN.

Dancing queens
Dancing queens

There was good food…

Mmmm, delicious
Mmmm, delicious - courtesy of guests and Veggie Annie

Killer drinks…

My fave - sangria
My fave - sangria

Awesome music…

Kathleen the (very talented) musician
Kathleen the (very talented) musician

And most importantly, good friends…

Me, Mom, Em, cousin Louise
Me, Mom, Em, cousin Louise
Mom and a sampling of friends
Mom and a sampling of friends
Mom and the lovely hosts
Mom and the lovely hosts

I almost forgot the most delicious part!

A Guiness cake, yes, theres beer in it. It is WONDERFUL. Just ask my belly.
A Guiness cake, yes, there's beer in it. It is FABULOUS. Just ask my belly.

(These pictures are courtesy of Mike. A talented photographer, who also happens to be my wonderful boyfriend.)

Me and Mike
Me and Mike

It truly was a fantastic party. My sister and I gave an impromptu speech, causing a ridiculous amount of tears. (From us. Seriously, we couldn’t pull ourselves together. Our mom is just THAT GREAT. I would go into just how fabulous she is, but that would cause the cry fest to start again. And that’s not something you want to see – I don’t cry pretty.)

The next day, we (me, Mike, and Em) went to meet my dad for brunch at Nola’s – a wonderful cafe in downtown Frederick. It’s one of my favorite breakfast places and has yet to disappoint. I don’t normally like hot drinks during hot weather but their cappuccino is AWESOME – my sister even followed suit (and if you visit her blog, she should have pics up soon).

the other parental unit
the other parental unit

The weekend was finished off by watching “Funny People.” (My personal opinion? Wait until it comes out on DVD.) It was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a while, and I was sad to see it end. I hope everyone had just as a delightful time as I did!

One thought on “The Big 6-0

Leave a Reply

