My First Stitch Fix

Update: This post has been updated to let you guys know what I kept and what I sent back. Thanks again for all of the input and stay tuned for my next Fix!

Time to do something different up in here!

I heard about Stitch Fix a while ago, but since I can be pretty picky when it comes to clothes, I didn’t think it’d work for me. The more friends talked (and blogged) about it, the harder it was to resist. And that’s how I ended up doing a fashion shoot in the middle of my kitchen at 9pm. (Big thanks to the husband for being my photographer! I have a feeling he’ll be doing this again…)

What is Stitch Fix, you ask? It’s like having your own personal stylist. Just fill out a (very detailed) questionnaire about your style preferences, choose your delivery date, pay a $20 styling fee, and wait for the five items to arrive at your door. You have three days to try the items on and decide what you want to keep. Keep nothing? All you lose is the $20 fee. Love them all? Get 25% off the total. Plus, the $20 goes toward whatever you decide to keep, whether it’s one item or all five. They provide a return label and envelope to send the items back – at no charge to you!

(One of my good friends has been getting “Fixes” for a few months and does a great job blogging them – thanks for inspiring me to follow suit, Renee!)

As for what I got… take a look at the pictures below and weigh in!

Stitch Fix 5

Shanae Geo Print Tie Waist Dress ($68)

If this dress had a little more shape and different sleeves it would be a keeper. The fabric is super soft and comfortable and the print is just my style. Sadly, I think it has to go back. B+

Update: Returned. Hoping for a similar dress in another Fix, but one that fits a little better.

Stich Fix 3

Brianne Button-Up Silk Peplum Blouse ($48)

Not a fan. I normally love peplum style tops, but this just isn’t flattering. The color, however, is great. C-

Update: Returned. Loved the color, hated the fit.

Stitch Fix 4

Danny 5-Pocket Knit Pants ($78)

Opinions please! I was so excited when I pulled these out of the box – a girl can never have enough black pants, right? And they fit! Two concerns: one, they’re a bit long and bunchy at the bottom; two, at $78, I’m not sure it’s a worthwhile addition to my wardrobe at this point in the season. Thoughts? A-

Update: Returned. As tempted as I was to keep them, I couldn’t justify the price. Especially with two pairs of similar pants already in my wardrobe.

Stitch Fix

Jerrard Heathered Open Front Cardigan ($48)

I think this is a keeper! I’ve been wanting to add an open front cardigan to my (way too big) sweater collection, and this might be the one. It fits perfectly, could be worn to work or running around on the weekends, and is SO VERY COMFY. A+

Update: Kept. I loved this! Comy and versatile with a great price, I already wore it to work.

Stitch Fix 2

Selfridge Cowl Neck Long Sleeve Top ($48)

As you can probably tell by my face, this is going back. The color looks a little too red in the pic – it’s actually more fuchsia, and that’s the only thing I liked about this piece. It’s just not flattering. Adding a lot of volume to an already top-heavy figure isn’t a good look for me. C-

Update: Returned. There wasn’t much about this that I actually liked, and it was far from flattering, so it went back.

I’m definitely happy I gave this service a shot. In fact, I’ve already scheduled my next Stitch Fix! (I feel an obsession coming on…)

Let me know in the comments what you think. What should I keep? What should I send back? Give Stitch Fix a try and see for yourself!

6 thoughts on “My First Stitch Fix

  1. I signed up for Stick Fix but haven’t scheduled a box yet. I am concerned the quality of the clothing isn’t worth the prices. As an avid TJ Maxx shopper I’m always looking for a bargin. As for your picks-I love the cardigan!

  2. I have done a few fixes now. I think they get better as you go on. Once they see what you like and what you return, I think it helps them adjust what they pick for you. That sweater looks great on you. 🙂

  3. I just got my 3rd box and have found at least one thing in every box that I have purchased. I am a very picky person to shop for so this is no surprise to me that I am sending back things. I think the more you update your profile and add pics to Pinterest of what your style is the better your choices will get. Think it’s fun to get a new box every month. The prices may seem a bit high but don’t forget you do get a discount ($20) when you keep something and another discount of 25% (I think) when you purchase all 5 items….obviously I haven’t gotten that one yet, so remember to factor that in when you look at cost. I love to shop, but don’t enjoy dragging 6 pairs of jeans into the dressing room to find the perfect pair…if someone else can do this for me then I can go to the store for special occasion stuff and I’m happier.

Leave a comment