An Emotional Night

I’m here. And with a lot to catch you up on. But not just yet.

Last night I attended the annual Cystic Fibrosis Foundation dinner. Each year, the local CF chapter and CF care team, supporters, ambassadors, and volunteers get together to talk about the progress we’ve made the past year and what we’re hoping to accomplish in the years ahead.

And it was exactly what I needed. Earlier in the day I was in a funk. No particular reason, just feeling down and unable to snap out of it. But it’s impossible to be in a room full of people all fighting for the same cause and NOT feel better.

I fought back tears the whole time – tears of fear, excitement, sadness, appreciation.

Fear because this can be scary as hell. The statistics of this disease can leave you breathless (pun not intended).

But I’m excited, too. Because new drugs are making a difference. One little girl using Kalydeco got to celebrate her 12th birthday much different than her 11th – out of the hospital.

These drugs being developed are incredible. Life changing.

Sadness because of the CF patients who are struggling to stay healthy. And for those who didn’t make it to see this day.

But I can’t forget appreciation. The CF Foundation is a group of dedicated and passionate people. Everyone involved – from patients to families to sponsors – give their whole hearts. They believe a cure WILL be found, and the energy is contagious. I’m never able to express how thankful I am for each and every one of them. Their efforts have allowed me to be where I am – 28 years old and leading a normal life.

We are so close to finding a cure – a CURE! And I’m going to use this space to help us get there. To spread awareness. Answer questions. Share my story. And I can’t wait.

Thanks for still being here. I’ll be back very soon.

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “An Emotional Night

  1. Always happy to see you back here.

  2. Katie says:

    Those types of conferences always make me feel so many different emotions. So glad you are back!

  3. bo says:

    Glad you’re still here, too.

  4. Hope says:

    I’m glad that you’re back. :)

  5. [...] a big thank you to all who stuck around for my “return to blogging.” I lucked out with some truly wonderful readers, and you guys are what keep me coming back [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

